Coast to Coast Cancelled

For the last few weeks I’ve had a pretty painful case of shin splints. I’ve rested but just not enough and it’s still a problem.

 

IMG_3537

Looked pretty bad when it first flared up

I’m my own worst enemy.  I make a bad patient and just can’t seem to sit still. I went up to Scotland for a few days recently and wasn’t allowed to do anything. All those mountains we passed and not one was climbed. I didn’t get very far from the van at all.

It’s starting to feel better but, because it hasn’t cleared enough, it means I’ve had to postpone my third and final training walk.

The Wainwrights Coast to Coast is 180 miles across the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors National Park and would have been my final opportunity to do some more kit tests, nav practice and walk some big hills.

Those who know me well, know how determined and committed I can be when I put my mind to something. Normally I would just be bull headed and walk it. But with LEJOG following it a few weeks later I can’t take that risk.

I’ve invested so much time in setting all of the walks up but I have to put my smart head on and rest up. The LEJOG walk means so much to me that I have to take into account the risk of further aggravating things.

I’m gutted, heartbroken and disappointed more than I care to share. But I’ve made the right call and that route isn’t going anywhere. In fact I’ve already had ideas to customise it, make it longer and take in more mountains which will count towards my ML. Every cloud…..

So I’m now back up north in Hexham where I intend on doing nothing at all for the rest of the week.

IMG_3656

Ice is my friend

Maybe I’ll go for a few swims but the plan is to read, plot out what I need to do for my ML and sketch out some adventure ideas. With nothing to do and time to kill it makes sense. Always scheming, always plotting, always learning and always dreaming. The way life should be.

4 thoughts on “Coast to Coast Cancelled

  1. Heather Crouse

    So sorry to hear this Paul. Brilliant attitude and will pray that your resting this week will do the trick.

    Like

    Reply
  2. m88

    We absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your
    post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a lot of
    the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome website!

    Like

    Reply
  3. slideserve.com

    ¡Fenomenal!
    Me parece muy lograda tu consideración sobre este proyecto.
    Desde algún tiempo atrás ando algo rayado con este tema e intento leer mucho
    sobre ello. La participación que has ejecutado me ha semejado muy ventajosa, no obstante creo que se podría analizar un poco más y de igual modo poder aclarar numerosas dudas que aún poseo.

    De todas formas, muchas gracias por tu participación. Voy a estar interesado a similares difusiones que
    ejerzas. Mil gracias.
    Un saludo.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

