Way Outside My Box

I’ve learnt a lot about myself over the last 10 months. Stuff I liked, stuff I didn’t like and a side I absolutely hated and feel shitty about just thinking back on.

Moving to London was a decision I made quickly. I’ve talked about why before. Moving down without really thinking about it was not like me but I thought I was making the right choice. It might not have worked out how I expected but I stand by that decision as I learnt from it.

Late last year I went through a bad period and spoke to a counselor. I decided to focus on changing things in my life.

One of the crazy ideas I had was to plan three long distance walks before embarking on a 1,300 mile Lands End to John O’Groats trek. I wanted a challenge, to find myself and just be in my head to see how I would cope. Given what I went through it doesn’t sound like a great idea but it helped me focus and try to get over things.

At the start of February I had an attack of self doubt about what I was doing and went for a 10 mile walk along the canals of London to think. The ideas snowballed into something more. Belinda at Explorers Connect had sent out an email about a charity event she was planning called Wild Nights Out for the Youth Adventure Trust.

Having done previous things for charity and never really raised that much money I was happy to keep the walks in my box and just do them for me. But the more I thought about it the more I realised it wasn’t just about raising money. It was about raising awareness for such a good cause.

I responded to the email suggesting I could do my walks for this charity and on a recent EC weekend I chatted to Belinda more about it and was sold. I’ve never been the most sociable person with a tendency to shy away from large groups and putting myself out there. But I knew I had to change my mindset and from the early conversations I’ve had this is something I am relishing.

I handed my notice in at work yesterday. I’ve always had a job so this concept of not working, not having a home and carrying my life on my back for 2-3 months is a new one and way out my comfort zone. But its an experience I yearn for and just the start. I have plans that are starting to loosely take shape and a crazy idea for another adventure down the line. Something that will challenge me physically and is pretty unique.

Its crazy to think but this time last year I was living in a huge semi-detached, mortgage paid off with a comfortable life. Now I am embarking on a whole new life that will take me places I only ever thought about.

It goes without saying that I couldnt do this without a network. My friends and family have been very supportive even though they are 300 miles away. I will always love and appreciate what they have done and continue to do for me.

With the love and support from people I am stepping out of my box, out of the comfort zone and undertaking a challenge that will test me in every way.

Leave a Reply

