Reivers Way – My Way

My next long distance walk after Hadrians Wall takes place at the end of April. Eight days walking in Northumberland.

I chose this because I spent my childhood walking in the Cheviots. The remoteness of the moors and hills, the beautiful scenery, not seeing anyone for days and the unpredictable weather. Perfect practice for LEJOG. Also, my Dad reckons we might be descendants of the Border Reivers. A bunch of cattle bandits. That figures.This walk isn’t an official marked trail so it will test my map reading techniques. Its also one where I will be spending a lot of time on my own wild camping. I have one day half way where I stop in a bunkhouse to recharge, resupply and shower in Rothbury. Other than that its camping all the way.

I used the Cicerone guide to get a basic idea of the route. Its normally done in 9 days but I’ve shaved a day off. I mapped it out on OS Maps so that will be a test of the usability of the maps they produce.

The walk starts in Corbridge and heads south, skirting round Hexham to Allendale Town. Then up to Wark, Elsdon, Rothbury, Usway Ford, up Cheviot (which will take me back to childhood, the last time I climbed it) and into Wooler. From there I head towards the coast via Belford to Bamburgh before heading down the coast to Alnmouth. Pretty much taking in a lot of what Northumberland has to offer.

Again this will be a challenging walk for me. On my own for big periods, more wild camping and long walking days. I will have 14-15 hours of daylight which will help. It also means I have to maybe think about carrying more as resupply places are scare. Given that I will take advantage of every pub or cafe I see along the way.

These are the stages I’m aiming for:

– Corbridge to Allendale Town 17.5 miles
– Allendale to Wark 22 miles
– Wark to Elsdon 16 miles
– Elsdon to Rothbury 13 miles
– Rothbury to Usway Ford 20 miles
– Usway Ford to Wooler 15 miles
– Wooler to Bamburgh 1 7 miles
– Bamburg to Alnmouth 21 miles

So thats my second walk of the year planned and booked in. Looking forward to it.
Leave a Reply

